Azriel Morag award

Announcing the Azriel Morag award

Ex Libris has announced the establishment of an annual award to honor the memory of Azriel Morag, the founder and first CEO of Ex Libris, and his immense contribution to Ex Libris and the academic library world. Morag, who died in October 2013, believed in innovation, daring, and the power of individuals to make a difference. This award, with a value of $3,000, will carry on his legacy.

It’s all about innovation 

The Azriel Morag Award for Innovation will be given to a librarian who demonstrates exceptional innovation and initiative during the two years leading up to the date of nomination. The winner’s accomplishments and the institution that the winner is associated with will be publicized globally.

Nominations and judges 

Ex Libris invites institutions in the international Ex Libris community to submit nominations of qualified individuals by May 31, 2014. The winner will be announced at the IGeLU conference. The panel of judges consists of representatives of Ex Libris and the company’s international user group (IGeLU). This year, the judges are Guido Badalamenti, library director at the University of Siena; Michele Newberry, former assistant director for library services at the Florida Virtual Campus; and Barbara Rad-El, senior librarian at Ex Libris.

Honoring Azriel 

“We are very proud to honor Azriel through this award,” commented Matti Shem Tov, president and CEO of Ex Libris. “Azriel was a unique innovator, with a vision of using information technology to transform scholarship and connectivity. Through this award, we will keep that vision alive and help a new generation of librarians realize their ideas and ambitions.”

How to submit nominations 

Institutions are invited to send their nominations by email to For more information about the award and the submission guidelines, see